John Coltrane - Blue Train The Complete Masters Tone Poet 2022

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Jcashfan, Jul 27, 2022.

1. latheofheaven

latheofheaven My Pants are FULLY Analog...

Well, honestly, that is kind of my point... I mean I'm a musician and composer myself (using both expressions EXTREMELY loosely) and I don't really care about the alternate takes THAT THEY DIDN'T SEE FIT TO USE! Geez, to me it's like the deleted scenes from a movie. They took them out for a reason. I never watch them, unless there is director commentary where he goes into the details of what they were trying to do and why they didn't use it. Otherwise, clearly the alternate takes are inferior or THEY WOULD HAVE USED THEM :D

Oh well... I guess there are some people who appreciate having them. For me, okay, LIVE performances where the songs differ like with the Grateful Dead, sure I see that. Every concert is indeed different. But, alternate takes from the studio... why...? Obviously, the perfect choice would have been to bundle the mono and stereo versions together. I still wouldn't have been too thrilled, but at least that makes some sense. BUT... then they wouldn't get all this money from all you guys who are buying BOTH then, would they :)

2. Balcanquhal

Balcanquhal Forum Resident

The reason they left out certain takes isn't necessarily because of content, but often in terms of LP playing time. In this case, the session didn't yield additional content, but it's simply not the case that alternate takes / additional content are solely left out because they're a load of crap. It's particularly the case for live recordings. Why be so prescriptive about this (and internet-shouting, too)?

3. latheofheaven

Sorry, sorry... :)