The Beatles - Revolver - 2022 Remix

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Deacon Blues, Aug 19, 2019.

1. revolution_vanderbilt

revolution_vanderbilt Forum Resident

I love the off-the-cuff rendition they did in '69.

2. I’ve always thought it was about a man who was dangerous and disturbed and I’ve been hearing it for 57 years. It’s like watching a movie with an anti-hero or a villain that does some nasty things. You can still enjoy the art for what it is and recognize what it is written about (or the pov) can be nasty.

3. mpayan

mpayan A Tad Rolled Off

Fair enough. I defer to you. Youve been listening to it longer than I have been alive :D

ODIrony, 2141 and wayneklein like this.
  4. AudiophilePhil

AudiophilePhil Senior Member

I beg to differ. The term "lousy" does not apply to "Run For Your Life," which is a lively and cheerful track with a nice melody and sung beautifully by John Lennon. It has all the elements of a great closing track and according to George Harrison, the Beatles had so much fun recording it. The musical elements that dominate the album"Rubber Soul" can be found aplenty on this track such as the bluesy lead guitar riff using the 1965 Rickenbackers, the folksy acoustic guitar sound that propels the song, and the vocal harmonies so characteristic of the middle-period Beatles sound. Notwithstanding the now-offensive lyrics, this closing track is musically a perfect closer for "Rubber Soul."

The Fact:
    You'd think that this closing track must be one of the more obvious last-minute fillers hastily thrown together before the "Rubber Soul" drop deadline, you are wrong! When you go to check Lewisohn's recording diary, though, you're surprised to find out that it was one of the first tracks recorded for the new album!

Let's just agree to disagree.....

Last edited: Nov 24, 2022