How much has the SQ of gear improved in the last quarter century?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Ilusndweller, Nov 23, 2022.

1. Ampexed

Ampexed Forum Resident

If you bother to look at my profile you would see that I am a practicing designer of audio amplifiers, not retired.

I cite polystryene because they are the most stable capacitors with the lowest dissipation factor. They are frequently used in analog filters and RIAA equalization because of their stability. I use paper in oil in gear I design for myself, but they cannot be used in commercial designs which are sold worldwide, at least by a major company.

Last edited: Nov 24, 2022
    Ilusndweller likes this.
  2. allied333

allied333 Audiophile

And, no different life in hours than older caps. They last much longer than 5000 hours. Not junk science. Now, here in junk older capacitors. Read it: Capacitor plague - Wikipedia

Ilusndweller likes this.
  3. allied333

allied333 Audiophile

More non-sense. Paper in oil last over 100 years. They are just too expensive. Of course, like yourself I also use paper in oil in my DIY designs. So, stop accusing me of being an idiot.

Ilusndweller likes this.
  4. Tullman

Tullman Senior Member

Yes they do, and no old tube amps aren't better. Check out Convergent Audio Technology.

Ilusndweller likes this.
  5. Ampexed

Ampexed Forum Resident

I never accused you of being an idiot - you said that. I don't dispute the stability of paper in oil, but aside from Mundorf, where can you purchase the real-deal military spec ones? I bought out most of the local stocks around my area decades ago. And are you saying that polystryene capacitors aren't used where stability is critical? Have you looked in lab gear?

Ilusndweller likes this.
  6. allied333

allied333 Audiophile