Steve, questions: Your time at Warner Bros. Pictures restoring movie & cartoon scores

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by CardinalFang, Dec 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CardinalFang

CardinalFang New Member Thread Starter

Steve,

In The Searchers thread, you said:

I never knew you were at Warners. Can you tell us a little about your time there, and some of the more fun/interesting projects you worked on?

I'm sure other members might have some questions for you too. :)

2. Steve Hoffman

Steve Hoffman Your host Your Host

Keith,

I was an independent contractor hired by WB to do some archive work on their mag "Music Storage" reels back in the early 1990's. It was understood that I would work evenings, weekends and I could do most of the work at my house. This saved WB a zillion dollars by doing it that way. Little did I know when the Warner Bros. truck pulled up to my driveway and unloaded 60 giant reels of THE MUSIC MAN alone (containing every take of the orchesta, the singers, the background singers all UNSYNCED) that I wouldn't last too long at it. Quite overwhelming. At any rate, I was well paid and got to listen to some great music. Just to be able to hear Robert Preston NAIL TROUBLE in one amazing take was reward enough! Some of the songs in GYPSY like Mr. Goldstone were recorded live on the set with three cameras running in sync, like I LOVE LUCY style. Wow. Live to three track mag.