Opinion on blank cassette tape

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by gitters, Jan 30, 2023.

1. gitters

gitters Mr. G Thread Starter

Hello,

I have two records that I would like to record onto a 90 minute cassette tape. I'm looking for some suggestions on a good quality blank tape.

2. fretter

fretter Forum Resident

From what I gather, the only tapes still being manufactured are Type I Normal Bias. Type II Chrome cassettes are available as new old stock (NOS) at various price points. The most popular Chrome tapes are the Maxell XLII, and XLII-S.
    For best sound, a Type 4 metal cassette would be best, as long as your system has a selector for Type 4. I have no experience with metal cassettes.

3. SSoundLtd

SSoundLtd Forum Resident

The current Type 1 cassettes being manfactured sound fine when recording from LPs. However they dirty up the cassette mechanism pretty fast unlike the higher quality blank tapes from the 90s. Type 2 and Type 4 blank cassettes are out there but they have gotten expensive.

gitters likes this.
  4. trickness

trickness Gotta painful yellow headache

Blank metal cassettes are going for like 30-40 bucks for an unopened 60 Maxell - yikes!!!!

5. vwestlife

vwestlife Forum Resident

New Type II high bias tape (actually cobalt, not chrome) is now being manufactured, but they're still working on the formulation, so the quality isn't as good as Type II tape of decades past.

Your cheapest option would be to simply find some old cassettes whose contents you don't care about, and record over them. Cassettes are typically 50 cents to a dollar each at thrift stores, and as long as it's not moldy and the felt pressure pad is intact, a 40-year-old cassette can still sound perfect when you make a new recording on it today.