I hear the difference between my apple lossless files and my CD player.

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by tonymichaels, May 23, 2023.

1. tonymichaels

tonymichaels Well-Known Member Thread Starter

..... and I can't say one sounds better (subjective) but the same recordings do sound quite different.
    On paper the apple lossless files have higher sample rate and bites and such but what about the source of those files? I'm confident some here could break this down. I'm far from an expert on the nuts and bolts of what I'm hearing. My CD player which is a Musical Fidelity m2scd gives me more detail like instrument separation and better vocal presentation. My files come from my mac mini into a Musical Fidelity DAC and give me a little more low end while sounding more polite. I'm sure there's other variables that come into play.

audiomixer and Sneaky Pete like this.
  2. WDeranged

WDeranged Forum Resident

Have you tried the cd player through the DAC?

TarnishedEars, Dave 81828384 and Kyhl like this.
  3. Ham Sandwich

Ham Sandwich Senior Member

Are you playing the Apple lossless files through a built-in DAC in an integrated amp?
    Is your integrated amp the Musical Fidelity M3SI: Musical Fidelity | M3si Integrated Amplifier
    The M3SI has a built-in DAC and a USB input that can accept up to 24/96

The M2SCD product page: Musical Fidelity | M2scd CD Player

If that's your setup then the Apple lossless files and the CDs are playing through different DACs. And that is the most likely explanation for the sonic differences you hear. Just because they're both Musical Fidelity DACs of similar lineage doesn't mean they're the same DAC chips and DAC implementation. They're going to sound different.

4. bgiliberti

bgiliberti Will You Be My Neighbor?

Make sure that the volume levels are matched exactly. Exactly…

5. tonymichaels

Yes, thanks. Intuitively thats just what i thought. Now let me ask if the DAC's were the same would audible differences be gone?