have you ever disliked an artist because of the lyrics?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by veloso2, May 24, 2023.

1. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Gillan just sells it very well. In my first flush of Purple adoration I never once thought that Gillan's lyrics were bad, but many years later I can look at them a little more critically and see where some were a bit silly or whatever. But such criticism doesn't really mean anything because the whole Purple experience is so stunning. You hear this deep and complex wall of sound topped off by Gillan's robust midrange and stunning screams, and suddenly it doesn't matter what he is singing.

Man at C&A and ParloFax like this.
  2. DTK

DTK Forum Resident

I love the blues euphemisms though- creative and funny. Long snake moan etc...

3. pig bodine

pig bodine God’s Consolation Prize

Frank Zappa detractors should check out the lyrics to Jumbo Go Away - a song about a groupie that threatens violence and has the three thing that "smell like fish" line. I'm not politically correct, but this is unbelievable, even for the time. His groupie songs were usually about real life experiences.

4. SirAngus

SirAngus Forum Resident

Graham Nash, but I don’t dislike him, just some of the lyrics.

phillyal1 and Bananas&blow like this.
  5. HfxBob

HfxBob Forum Resident

Not that it excuses Adams for putting them out, but I think most of his lyrics were written by Jim Vallance.

phillyal1 and dkmonroe like this.
  6. dkmonroe

Ah, you're right, I completely forgot about him.

HfxBob likes this.
  7. Amnion

Amnion Forum Occupant

Even as a Canadian, I don't disagree, but I still give him nudge-wink credit for Summer of '69. But in fairness, if we're talking banal or generic lyrics, there's way worse.

phillyal1 and dkmonroe like this.
  8. dkmonroe

I HATE that song! :laugh:

veloso2, bob chabot, Fischman and 2 others like this.
  9. versionsound

versionsound The six strings that drew blood