Moody Blues - Days of Future Passed Original Mix question

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Gorilla, Sep 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Steve Hoffman

Steve Hoffman Your host Your Host

In all the ways that upset you, I guess.

Settle down!

2. bhazen

bhazen GOO GOO GOO JOOB

After playing a dozen original LPs (US, UK, Japan) in search of the ultimate needle-drop, I've come to the conclusion that the original mix is (admittedly) more mysterious; but it's also largely murk. The remix is clearer; more tonally balanced; the fader cues are largely spot-on, as opposed to the original mix; and it's punchier all around. I tend to agree that it's nice hearing the additional harmonies on "Evening: Time To Get Away" on the original mix, but they might've appeared as a bit too much in the new mix.

Not to suck up, :D but Steve is right, IMO.

3. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

:laugh:

I can't remember the last time I was so surprised by a post!

It's ironic that even though I actually bought my first copy of DOFP in 1978. somehow I still ended up with the remix. I mean, in my local record store I could still buy sealed WB albums and get the green label in 1978m which was, what, four years after the switch? But somehow I still managed to get the remix of this album. It's the only one I've ever heard.

4. izgoblin

izgoblin Forum Resident

I found what I'd bet was an original US mix the other day (at least the inner sleeve advertised only albums from '69 and prior) and I passed it up. It was $2. Dunno what goes through my head sometimes.