Loricraft PRC-4 Deluxe Record Cleaning Machine mini review

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by fmuakkassa, May 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fmuakkassa

fmuakkassa Dr. M Thread Starter

This is my mini review of the Loricraft PRC4-Deluxe Record Cleaning Machine. I have been using it now for almost one month so I have a fair idea on how the machine works. I am not a professional reviewer. This is an end user review. A lot of the information about its physical characteristics I got from various web sites and I will include when deemed necessary. I did perform my own measurements too to supplement this review. The US importer Smart Devices have links to professional reviews if someone is interested:
    http://www.smartdev.com/loricraft.html

Description of the machine: The Loricraft PRC4 is a big machine 18”W, 11”H (with acrylic cover on) and 16” D and weighs about 35 pounds. What distinguishes the PRC4 Deluxe from the PRC3 is a hard acrylic dust cover (can be added to the PRC3), adjustable leveling feet, vacuum arm rest, and a very expensive German made industrial double headed vacuum pump. If the suction power of the PRC-3 is graded as 1, then the PRC-4 suction value is 2.2 and the PRC-4 Deluxe has suction value 3.7 (two pump heads). Therefore, you would need 3.7 PRC-3 pumps to create as much vacuum as a PRC-4 Deluxe. The design engineers discovered that the PRC-4 Deluxe cannot be operated in a room where the temperature is below 60F. The vacuum is so intense the nozzle will freeze from the air velocity and record cleaning fluid!