Steve's Analogue Productions Blue Note SACD/CD Sound Quality Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by jpm-boston, Jan 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. therockman

therockman Senior Member In Memoriam

The wonderful thing about this series for me is discovering new titles. I am new to this genre of music, so most of these titles are brand new to me. Take for example Leeway. I love this disc. I have listened to it seven times already. It is a brand new album for me. I love Leeway and I am looking forward to other "new" titles that I will be listening to in the next 5 years or so that it will take this series to come out.

2. johnny33

johnny33 New Member

I fee the same way Rockman... I think this series of jazz os hitting me at just the right time in my life. Just the right age. I still like my rock n roll, but I find myself enjoying jazz for the first time.

What a way to begin the journey eh? :)

3. JMCIII

JMCIII Music lover first, audiophile second.

You're in the position I was 20 years ago. Fun isn't it.

For me, I love the fact that these wonderful albums are now available in the two highest resolution consumer mediums around - 45 rpm vinyl and SACD. As a jazz fan I can't ask for more. :righton:

4. aoxomoxoa

aoxomoxoa I'm an ear sitting in the sky

I hate changing the speed on my turntable, plus the cost of the 45 rpm series turned me off so I have been waiting patiently for the SACD series. I just recieved my first two from Jay & Marie at ebay (got 'em for under $50 shipped!) : Leeway & Capuchian Swing. I must say that these are living up to thier expectations. Someone commented on the Leeway disc sounding compressed - hell no! This is one the best sounding Blue Note recordings I have heard. A great choice for release. I simply cannot wait for the Impulse releases to hit. You think these sound good? Just wait for "Black Saint & The Sinner Lady" from Mingus!!

5. aoxomoxoa

aoxomoxoa I'm an ear sitting in the sky