bob dylan - nodes on his throat?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by bigmikerocks, Apr 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bigmikerocks

bigmikerocks Forum Resident Thread Starter

so has there ever been any word about dylan's throat? i know he's pretty private about his personal life and all.

i know people who have had nodes and other problems with their vocal chords, and have had successful surgeries.

i wonder if dylan ever even bothered to look into this, or just dealt with it and used the 'new' sound to develop different vocal approaches as his condition got worse and worse

i personally really like his last few albums, and think his voice sounds cool, but personally, if i lost the tunefulness and melodious quality of my voice i would be heartbroken

then again, i sing for a living.....so does dylan, but people will pay to hear him sing, shredded throat or not (obviously). people wouldn't pay me to sing covers sounding like dylan does now

just curious if any word about his throat and singing voice from the man himself has ever been addressed.

cheers!!!

2. johnny33

johnny33 New Member

I have a feeling that Dylan pays more attention to his health than what many might think. I woud imagine the scare with his heart made him quiet aware of how fragile things can be.

Remember though, back in the early days Dylan suffered from a hard case of bronchitis that he purposely let tear his throat up. He liked that rough sound he was getting during that time.

I think he has reached that old delta blues voice he always desired but never had. Its not a worsening "condition", I believe its very pruposeful.

Nodes? Probably has nodes on top of nodes lol.

But Im with you, I hope he never loses what range he has left. He can surprise in concert though. Just when you think he is spent and his voice has the capabilities of about a half dozen notes he will soar and surprise.

3. Yorick

Yorick Senior Member

Well, he still smokes :shake:

4. Jan