Question about Tubes for a CJ (Conrad-Johnson) Pre-Amp

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by ATSMUSIC, Jul 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ATSMUSIC

ATSMUSIC Senior Member Thread Starter

I was recommended these tubes http://www.upscaleaudio.com/Russian-6H236922-Type-3_p_49.html so I am wondering if anyone has any experience with these?

Also wondering what 6922 tubes people recommend for the most transparent sound?

I am new with tubes so I really do not understand a lot about them.

Thanks for any help.

I have a CJ CT-6 in case that helps.

Thank you! :righton:

2. TommyTunes

TommyTunes Senior Member

I would check with Andy at Vintage Tube Services http://www.vintagetubeservices.com/ and see what he has available. When I had my Permier 14, he set me up with some great tubes. I planning on ordering NOS for my CT-5 from him

3. Mike in OR

Mike in OR Through Middle-earth...onto Heart of The Sunrise

Well I can tell you that I have been buying gear and tubes from Kevin for more than 20 years. In addition to Andy, Kevin is a tube wizard. If he has a recommendation for you regarding tube type, you can bank on it. That said, if you have the cash flow I would consider experimenting with some NOS in the 6922 family. My personal faves have been the Mullard and Miniwatt E188CC and the Siemens CCa tubes. The nice thing about using NOS tubes is that on average, they will handle so many more hours of use before going noisy than that of current production. At least that has been my experience.

4. dividebytube

dividebytube Forum Resident

I've done some fairly recent 6922 tube rolling - though it was for a Bottlehead Seduction phono stage - and found the 6H23P to be a fine tube. Of course the rumor is that the 70s/80s production is better than the recent stuff. For NOS tubes, the Amperex / Made in Holland stuff is still decently priced and was a step up over the 6H23P. More general 'tubiness', warmth, 3-d kind of sound.