Classical Corner Classical Music Corner (thread #6)

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by coopmv, Jan 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. OE3

OE3 Senior Member

Disc rot

I have 6-10 such discs on the Pearl label, manufactured in UK between 1989 and 1993. I have also purchased a bronzed disc that was unplayable (and returned it). Just as described in the Wikipedia entry for CD bronzing:

2. Robin L

Robin L Musical Omnivore

I was a recording engineer a decade or two ago and did a lot of work in the HIPP community. The Fortepiano is a cantankerous instrument but the sonic personality of the wood-framed piano is an inescapable element of Beethoven's keyboard music—that whole Sforzando element of Beethoven's sound-world comes out of the barking articulation of the instruments Beethoven played on. It's a primary reason why I like Kempff's Beethoven so much, the way his dynamic contrasts and the clarity of his bass-lines resemble the action of the fortepiano.

Comme ci comme ça—there's more intensity at times, not that the music required any more throttling, and the the sound is, if anything, even worse than the generally miserable sound of the 50's cycle.

3. OE3

OE3 Senior Member

I concur. Not a big fan of Walter's Beethoven, actually. And I heard his Mahler 1 'Titan' on the radio today (w/ Colubmia SO). What happened to the guts in the fourth movement (Stürmisch bewegt - Energisch)? Stormily agitated? Energetic? I don't think so. The good post-stroke Indian Summer recordings are outweighted by the mediocre, IMHO. Stay away from his Schubert 9 'The Great', for starters. Dvorak 9 'New World' is worthy. But there are so many better modern recordings of those works, with better sound. If you want GREAT Walter, start with his 1938 Mahler 9 w/ VPO.

I recommend getting some Weingartner on Naxos Historical.

4. Robin L

Robin L Musical Omnivore