Audio Fidelity new 24 Kt Gold CD of "Crosby, Stills & Nash" Review: Veil Removed!!!

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by audiomixer, Dec 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Schmeig

Schmeig Forum Resident

Not with my copy of this title, nor any other AF gold discs, but I've had other CDs (including some in perfect condition) that for some reason have done what you've described in one player, but worked perfectly fine in others. I'd be inclined to seek a replacement while they are still in stock.

There is something I've wondered about these AF gold discs. When held to the light, it is very easy to see through them. I'm no technical expert, but I've wondered whether this might cause misreads of the music layer on some players (from the lettering on the opposite side showing through. I've had that happen on one or two silver discs over the years. So far, I have not had problems with any of my copies of the AF gold discs. I'm sure there is a scientific reason for this, but it makes me wonder if some players might be more sensitive to misreads because of it. Maybe this is more appropriately a discussion for the equipment section.

2. John Buchanan

John Buchanan I'm just a headphone kind of fellow. Stax Sigma

The new Sony versions of the EH Jimi Hendrix Are You Experienced and Electric Ladyland CDs caused a lot of grief for my CD player - it tried forwards, backwards (my CD player is a top loader with a viewing window) and then stopped. I had kept the MCA versions fortunately, so they now reside in the Sony covers along with the Sony DVDs.
    I'm hanging out for this CD - c'mon Austpost!!!!

3. drSeehas

drSeehas Forum Resident

What is "EH"?

4. Raunchnroll

Raunchnroll Senior Member

EH = Experience Hendrix

5. drSeehas

drSeehas Forum Resident

Thank you very much.
    But: I know "Experience Hendrix" as a compilation Best-of album.