Do you hear an improvement with Hi-Res?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Plan9, Mar 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ricks

ricks Senior Member

Hi Doug, it is so obvious to me I also have a difficult time understanding how others do not hear the effects of an out of phase speaker. FWIW there are those who do not hear their speakers are out of phase, but incongruously claim they detect differences in sound from 100% digitally identical discs. I'm also sure there are those who will will still argue about out of phase even though you can prove in the physical realm that speakers are wired wrong. What qualifies as good sound is just too subjective, I guess ?

2. wolfram

wolfram Slave to the rhythm

As I said:
    I don't doubt that you hear the differences easily and wasn't referring to your posts. I somehow know what you mean. I work as a video-editor and I simply can't believe how many material is being broadcasted with a wrong aspect ratio (4:3 stretched to 16:9) and that it's not obvious to everyone. But I'm just more sensitive to that kind of error (it's my job after all).

Maybe I'm lucky the differences between 16/44,1 and hi-res aren't so obvious to me, since most of the music is still on redbook CD. :)

3. Steve G

Steve G Senior Member

I voted for subtle, choosing to interpret "significant" as "large" rather than "important". the improvement makes a big difference for me in terms of the pleasure of listening. but I don't think it's night and day - more like something you lock into from time to time - it's more relaxing and then every now and then you hear something that makes you swoon. Hi-res doesn't really sound like I imagined it sounding when I first heard of it - that sound hasn't been done yet - vinyl still comes the closes to that sound for me, but that's because it's so unique that you key into it as a sound event of its own.

4. GregM

GregM The expanding man