SH Spotlight SH Forum members: Are your speakers in correct phase?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Steve Hoffman, Oct 25, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tim Casey

Tim Casey Active Member

Two things:

1. "Can't you tell if a stereo recording is o.o.p.?" - It would be incredible to find a recording that made it past the engineers being out of phase. The only times I've experienced this is with someone's SPEAKERS being out of phase, which of course wouldn't show up on a computer analysis of the original audio file.

2. Don't bring up esoteric speaker cables on the forum; as an engineer, I agree that thick cables are good enough, but it's a subject that a lot of people here feel very strongly about (including the main man, Steve Hoffman). A good rule of thumb is not to discuss politics, religion, or speaker cables at the dinner table if you want to make it to dessert...

2. Veech

Veech Space In Sounds

Originally Posted by thegage
    Silent Running Audio has a chart (available for download on their homepage: http://www.silentrunningaudio.com/home.htm) listing their determination of absolute phase for a number of record labels. I haven't done any serious listening to confirm or disprove their findings, but if you take it at face value the conclusion is that essentially half the record labels put out recordings in reversed absolute polarity. Depending on your listening habits you could be doing a lot of speaker wire switching!

John K.

Sorry, I read "reversed absolute polarity" in the above post and equated it to "out of phase".

3. Elton

Elton I Hope Being Helpful, Will Make Me Look Cool

I'm in phase, but not now I have to clean everything! And since I'm doing that, now I'll try to find that hum.... :confused: :wave: :love:

4. Doug Sclar

Doug Sclar Forum Legend