Classical Corner Classical Music Corner (thread #41)

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by George P, Oct 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bronth

Bronth Active Member

Thanks, I'll check it out. :wave: I'm a musician too, and off key performances can bother me as well (albeit I'm "only" a drummer, so off key playing is my privilege :D).

2. George P

George P Notable Member Thread Starter

These are the main reasons why I buy CDs based on performance, not label.

FWIW, he recorded the Dvorak earlier (late forties) with Ormandy (I have and enjoy this CD, transferred by Seth Winner):

[​IMG]

http://www.amazon.com/Gregor-Piatig...90&sr=8-1&keywords=piatigorsky+dvorak+Ormandy

3. Bronth

Bronth Active Member

Me too, almost always. OTOH, having the SACD/DVD-A playback capabilities it's pretty hard to resist to some higher resolution temptations which scream "If I'm not a bargain, what else is?!" ;)

4. Bronth

Bronth Active Member

Thanks for the tip, I may buy this CD since it has all-new music for me. The pricing isn't too bad either (albeit it's a bit more expensive than the SACD but it also offers 3 concertos instead of 2).

5. George P

Sure, but it's only a bargain if you actually listen to the disc, right?

I often have to remind myself that there's likely going to be a new release/reissue that I am going to really want just around the corner, so keeping some extra money in the bank usually seems like the wisest move for me.

6. Bronth

Bronth Active Member

BTW, speaking of performance-over-recording preferences, currently I'm listening to a mono recording of the Liszt 1st Piano Concerto played by Lazar Berman. And I so strongly prefer it to the Emanuel Ax stereo version (which is a common "standard recommendation") that it's not even funny...

7. George P

The Ax gets the axe. :cheers:

8. 5-String

5-String μηδὲν ἄγαν

:righton:

Yeah, give it a listen and see.