Robbie Robertson - did he rip off The Band?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by glenecho, Dec 6, 2012.

1. glenecho

glenecho Forum Resident Thread Starter

OK...did a search for Robbie Robertson and found nothing so I created a new thread. Sure it's been discussed but I couldn't find it (is the search working properly?).

Here's the deal, I've read 0 books on the subject and have only leafed through some articles about the subject. I'm not an expert on the inner workings of The Band but I do know that the fortunes of Robbie Robertson vs. the rest of The Band were two very different things. I also believe that several lawsuits have gone down about this.

However my opinion is strictly a musician's view as someone who has written songs by myself as well as collaborated with others on creating music.

I find it very hard to believe that Robertson wrote all those songs on his own. My reasonings are PURELY hunches based on experience. Some arguing points:

1. How is it that Robertson had this unbelievably fruitful period of songwriting from 67-75 but since then has written very little and what he has written, in my opinion, is VASTLY inferior not to mention very very different from The Band's material? The output from Robertson since 1976 really doesn't seem to point to the fact that he wrote that material. I don't hear many stylistic similarities.

2. Where did all of the southern aspects of this music come from? All but Levon were from Canada yes? But lo and behold Levon happened to be from the South. Hmmm....

3. Why does the first Danko solo album sound way more like The Band than anything Robertson has done?

4. Robertson has been sued several times for this, or am I wrong? Haven't Levon and others claimed that songwriting was a group effort?