Star Trek (TOS): Episode By Episode Thread

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by Luke The Drifter, Jan 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. apileocole

apileocole Lush Life Gort

Rating of Naked Time (all ratings in context to TOS) - 4 1/2 Tribbles.

That's 1/2 Tribble off for overplayed Riley and that blasted Kirk in torn action shirt cliche. :D

The Oak likes this.
  2. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

I had heard that Roddenberry wanted to re-do "The Naked Time" in TNG because he thought that he could make it "racier" in the 80's than he could in the 60's on TOS. I don't remember if it actually worked out that way - I only remember rolling my eyes when Data (I think) discovered the record of the Enterprise encountering the phenomena and the solution to the infection. I was thinking, "Great, we've come all this way for someone to say, 'Hey, I've seen this episode, this is how we solve the problem!'" :laugh:

IronWaffle likes this.
  3. Luke The Drifter

Luke The Drifter Forum Resident Thread Starter

Tasha has relations with Data in that episode doesn't she?

That was pretty risque.

It pales in comparison to the original Naked Time.

4. Daniel Plainview

Daniel Plainview God's Lonely Man

When Spock refers to Sulu as 'd'Artagnan' as he's being taken away it seems to express an element of sarcasm that's slightly out of character. That line always sticks out to me when I watch this episode.

I think this is one of the best episodes. The perfect balance of action, drama, and humor. Riley singing over the intercom is a hoot. Lots of fun.

The Oak likes this.
  5. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot