Cartridge Alignment to Protractor Extremes

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by avanti1960, Apr 3, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cliff

Cliff Magic Carpet Man

I have been using a Mint protractor with my VPI Classic for around 6 years. I've mounted 5 different MC carts with it. If it's printed on the mirror, then I use it. So I put the stylus outside of where the record starts (near the protractor's printed arc starting point), check alignment to the arc and then move it near the spindle (far inside of any run out groove). I always figured if it follows that line all the way through, then that's as accurate an overhang as you can possibly measure for.

Sterling1 likes this.
  2. StratDoc

StratDoc Sapien

Got it thanks. Was having a brain lapse moment when I asked the question.

Davey likes this.
  3. StratDoc

StratDoc Sapien

I was close on the alignment using the dbsystems protractor but when compared against the tool measuring the stylus across the arc from outside to inside was slightly off. Now dialed in!

Davey likes this.
  4. avanti1960

avanti1960 Forum Resident Thread Starter

doesn't work for me. there is no guarantee that your eyes will be at the exact height needed to make sure they are lined up, there is no horizontal plane of reference.
    you could easily line up the stylus and line by eye and it will still be off.

to do it by eye requires two reference points, one in front of the cartridge and one behind it. get the stylus in the middle and aligned and you're good.

Henry J likes this.
  5. avanti1960

sounds quite painful! hope all gets cleared up soon...

MattHooper likes this.
  6. avanti1960

FYI I just lined up a new cartridge with the diving board. I was very careful and sighted it in as best as I could using a straight edge and looking at it for several minutes. I was at least 2mm off compared to the protractor!

Look at post #106. No muss, no fuss.

Lyra Delos Phono Cartridge Questions