Parting with CDs

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Adam9, Aug 10, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AlecA

AlecA Forum Resident

Hmm, just read the article and I agree that he didn't seem to be telling anyone what they should do, just what he did.

Perhaps it helps that I have gone through similar purges. I used to work in the publishing industry and had way too many books. I purged most of them (even the signed ones) and haven't once missed them. I'm no minimalist, but I also abhor clutter.

All that said, I have purged a few thousand CDs and would like to purge a few thousand more. Like losing weight, the first few thousand were easy to part with--it's getting harder, now. Streaming services have helped greatly. I still worry that the streaming market will shatter, silo, and then become as pricey as cable TV (which I got rid of years ago), but I haven't gotten rid of anything I really consider essential. Of the things I have gotten rid of, I haven't regretted a thing.

I like that after years of collecting, I am now curating my collection. It feels good and worthwhile to me. But that's just me. I wouldn't think twice about someone who had a different opinion. As eric777 said above, collect if makes you happy, purge if it does the same. One size does not fit all.

2. Mumdad

Mumdad Forum Resident

'Live Forever', by any chance? If so, I had the exact same experience.

Mbd77 likes this.
  3. audiomixer

audiomixer As Bald As The Beatles

I get the impression that the majority of people have no filter on their buying habits; which I can totally relate to. However, if living on the edge due to your collection, it probably doesn’t allow you to afford a dwelling capable of housing all of it. This, the desire to downsize.

4. audiomixer

audiomixer As Bald As The Beatles

I guess I wouldn’t call what he had was a “collection”, but to each his own.

Howard Bleach likes this.
  5. Man at C&A

Man at C&A Senior Member