SH Spotlight People always ask me: What does brickwalled digital compression sound like?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Steve Hoffman, May 23, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Espen R

Espen R Senior Member

I'm new to this thread and I 100% agree with Steve, digital compression does never sound good, it only creates distortion.

George P and Peter Pyle like this.
  2. Espen R

Espen R Senior Member

I've many times wondered about why record labels/artists/management have an idea that added distortion to their music ( digital compression) is good and something that the audience want.
    Like all Supertramp CD-remasters in the last 20 years that has sounded terrible distorted. But suddenly they changed their mind and released a 40'th anniversary Ray Staff mastering of Crime of the century with a full dynamic range. Why did they do that? I mean, why did they remove the part of the mastering that they for 20 years defined as "something good'?

Last edited: Jan 3, 2015
    Jarleboy and Bob_Rush like this.
  3. Davidmk5

Davidmk5 Forum Resident

I will be doing a lot of Copy/paste of this one ...... A+++

4. JamieLang

JamieLang Forum Resident

While I love the analogy...."digitally" isn't helpful for the layman. While I understand it's technically digital look ahead limiting with adaptive envelopes allowing this processing to be....tolerated. And that if an ME limits themselves to only using analog mastering tools, it's hard to achieve this kind of face on glass....i use another body part in my explanations, but....still pressed on glass. ;)

....also since "digital compression" often is confused by the layman with what is technically data compression (mp3) which has a different but less lousy set of side effects....