Yamaha AV Receiver set-up

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Pirri96, Jul 29, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pirri96

Pirri96 Member Thread Starter

Hi there! First of all, I am a newbie in the field, so please excuse me if my question sounds too obvious or even silly.

I just connected both an Audio-Technica turntable and Alexa to my Yamaha AV Receiver RX-V359 (I used to use it as a Home Cinema), which has 2 basic Panasonic speakers plugged into it (they came with a Micro Hi-Fi system). I'm kind of lost amid all the "programs" the receiver has to offer (5 Ch. Stereo, 2 Ch. Stereo, Straight effect, Dolby Pro Logic II Music, Dolby Pro Logic, Concert Hall mode, The Roxy Thtr...). I just want to listen to music as "pure" (as the artist intended, I mean) and good as possible. Any recommendations?

Thank you in advance.

Bingo Bongo likes this.
  2. SMc

SMc Forum Resident

Straight mode, 2 Channel Stereo. Consult a manual if you add a subwoofer later. Tone controls might activate processing but use your ears to judge whether they help your enjoyment.

3. Pirri96

Thank you, SMc. Is a subwoofer advisable?

4. Strat-Mangler

Strat-Mangler Personal Survival Daily Record-Breaker

If you find your speakers lacking in oomph, you can use one. But they're not necessary if you have loudspeakers with plenty of bass.

5. Pirri96

These are the specs. Do they seem well enough?
    Type 2 way, 2 speaker system;
    Woofer 10 cm cone type / Tweeter 6 cm cone type; Impedance High 6 Ω Low 6 Ω; Input power (IEC) High 40 W (Max) Low 40 W (Max); Sound pressure level 82 dB/W (1.0 m); Crossover frequency 3.5 kHz; Frequency range 50 Hz–30 kHz (–16 dB) 55 Hz–25 kHz (–10 dB); Dimensions (W x H x D) 140 mm x 225 mm x 218 mm; Mass 1.95 kg

6. SMc

SMc Forum Resident

In general, yes, but if you’re happy with what you have, don’t worry!