Classical Corner Classical Music Corner

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by George P, May 29, 2015.

1. ragepil

ragepil Forum Resident

Maximum noob on classical music. I mean, I enjoy the Four Seasons, the Branderbourg Concerts, Paganini...

Any audiophile (SACD prefered) compilation with the classic and famous tunes?

2. George P

George P Notable Member Thread Starter

3. Speaking of Living Stereo, I am unimpressed by the sound/recording quality of the LP below. My copy is a shaded-dog one (Canadian pressed/US stampers) which I have bought still sealed. I find it sounding thin - instead of warm, deep and engaging - as if their microphones were not fantastic or something... I'm only mentioning this because 1) I have very little experience with the shaded dogs; and 2) they have such as sky-high reputation...

[​IMG]

NickySee likes this.
  4. George P

[​IMG]

Chillin out with this CD.

mcwlod, Wes H and NickySee like this.
  5. drh

drh Talking Machine

Others more tuned in to the subject will doubtless have more to contribute, but that is a "Dynagroove" pressing, and I believe those are not well regarded. As I understand things, the Dynagroove records were designed to be very thin, and the process compromised the sound they yielded. I don't know if an earlier issue of that recording in a more conventional pressing exists.

ParloFax likes this.
  6. No this is a 1966 recording, according to Discogs, so the earliest version ought to be the Dynagroove I believe. I should have thought about the Dynagroove thing, thanks. Even though I have played the Prokofieff cello concerto by the BSO/Leinsdorf shaded-dog, another canadian Dynagroove, right after the Van Cliburn one, and the orchestra sounded full, warm and nice.

7. sambamaster

sambamaster Forum Resident