EAC vs CueTools vs. dbPoweramp

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by buzzy, Apr 12, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. buzzy

buzzy Active Member Thread Starter

I'm new to ripping my CDs and I have so far tried CueTools (CueRipper) and EAC for creating flac files on my Windows 10 computer. I thought EAC was a bit too complicated to get set up, too many boxes to tick or un-tick, and not knowing what any of it means in a practical sense. I know guys say just run the wizard and it will be fine for most needs, but I didn't find that to be the case. Anyway, CueRipper, which isn't super intuitive either, at least gave me good results off the bat. It puts the files in folders according to Artist/Year-Album/Tracks in that order by default. I love that it sorts chronologically by default so albums within the folder are sorted according to year instead of alphabetically. I know you can change the placeholders in EAC to accomplish the same thing, but sometimes getting the syntax correct can be confusing. The other cool thing about CueTools is its ability to repair rips so they match the database, which I had to do on one CD I bought recently from Discogs. I don't think the other two can do that. dbPoweramp costs $40 and the others are free, but there is a free trial so you can try before you buy. It gets high praise from many for ease of use and features. Hydrogen Audio has forums with a lot of information for EAC/CueTools, though it can get very technical at times. I am going to try the free version of dbPoweramp for a few rips, and if it streamlines the process, will not have a problem forking over the $40. The batch converter thing they mention might come in handy if I want to make MP3s for my phone.

2. TarnishedEars

TarnishedEars Forum Resident

Supposedly EAC allows you to fix rips as well. But I've not yet figured-out how to use this feature.

3. patient_ot

patient_ot Senior Member