SH Spotlight SH Forum members: Are your speakers in correct phase?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Steve Hoffman, Oct 25, 2004.

1. Uncle Meat

Uncle Meat Forum Resident

I have had a horrible time with dealers putting my car speakers out of phase (didn't even know what I was talking about).
    I have gotten to where I check it, and sometimes fix it myself.

2. DrPhibes

DrPhibes Vengeful Revenant and 5.1 Fanbeast

Yes - although the first time I set up my system it was out of phase.

I'm no expert on this, so I'd appreciate some feedback. Do the auto-setup functions on Yamaha receivers with the included mic give good information, or should I trust my ears more?

3. joethomas1

joethomas1 Forum Resident

I have a setup using a cd player, pre amp and active monitors connected using rca leads, is this still something I need to check?

4. Stuart S

Stuart S Back Jack

I have a Radio Shack HT setup disk that plays some white noise amongst the 5 channels so you ear can tell if the speakers are in phase with each other. According to my ears they were but I checked all the cabling anyway to make sure. It was easy to do since I'm using flat speaker cables pinned above the baseboards and the polarities are labeled on the wires and my crimp insulators are color coded.

5. rstamberg

rstamberg Senior Member

I've been there, too.
    Mammoth frustration.
    "Professionals."

Rock Stamberg

6. James Glennon

James Glennon Senior Member

I never ceased to be amazed when I go into record stores how many of the systems they are using to play the music are out of phase!

JG

7. Thin Man

Thin Man Forum Resident

Steve:

Thanks for bringing this up. Phase is a secret fear on mine.

I am pretty sure my speakers are in phase but I am too frightened to test since I have three way active speakers (that's six speaker cables) and it all seems a bit too much sometimes.

Maybe soon I'll get the nerve to do it.

Jay

8. Steve Hoffman