Looks like HMV in the UK may survive after all...

Discussion in 'Marketplace Discussions' started by Sound of the Suburbs, Feb 3, 2019.

1. Pouchkine

Pouchkine Forum Resident

I went to a Sunrise Records today in Montreal and found quite a lot of CDs 2/10$ and overall very good prices. The CD section is not that big but I was pleasantly surprise that they had some good selection from some artists. Archambault have a bigger CD section but often times it's only the latest album, the biggest seller and the most recent compilation.

The vinyl section is quite impressive but the prices seemed pretty high although I'm no expert on vinyl.

Some good selection of music t-shirts as well 2/35$

A LOT of DVDs mainly tv series and movies which I don't care for at all, only a very small DVD section for actual music.

I came with no expectation and overall it was pretty good, I will go back for sure. It's nice to still have some actual stores to buy new music.

carlwm and Sound of the Suburbs like this.
  2. Man at C&A

Man at C&A Senior Member

Sean likes this.
  3. jimod99

jimod99 Daddy or chips?

These are also available at Sunrise, and FNAC in France, and it wouldn’t surprise me if Saturn in Germany have them, as they had the last lot of “exclusives” too.

Sean likes this.
  4. eddiel

eddiel Senior Member

Sunrise Canada has a habit of presenting "exclusives" like this. :)

Sean likes this.
  5. shanebrown

shanebrown Forum Resident

It's also worth adding that, if the store is big enough to accommodate them, then the book section is worth a quick glance. They have been doing 2 Gollancz sci-fi novels for a fiver which is very cheap indeed. Same price on some Penguins too.

Porkpie and G00dVibrations like this.
  6. Well HMV in Worcester is closing, a university city no less. It's also disappeared from Shakespeare's town, a major tourist hotspot.

It's not looking good.

7. shanebrown

On the other hand, Fopp has been reopened in Manchester.