15.6kHz interference

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by harry_t, Sep 13, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. harry_t

harry_t New Member Thread Starter

Hello all,

I am studying for a Masters in Acoustics and I am currently researching the presence of a 15625Hz tone (15750Hz in the USA) that I have observed in many mid-90s / early-2000s recordings. It is pretty much undocumented in academic literature but I've noticed that a few people have written about it here.

I have measured a spike of 16dB or more above the average 1/3 octave-band level (14130Hz to 17780Hz being the band in question). Following a sample of various recordings from the 90s/00s, I found that the interference tone was more prevalent in music recorded or mixed in certain studios.

The most likely source of this interference is the flyback transformer in CRT screens being picked up by microphones. I believe this is where recordings have been made in a control room where CRTs are present, or using a desk that had a CRT built in. Indeed, sometimes I can hear it fading in or out with vocal takes, probably where a performance has been punched in next to the desk.

It appears that recordings can also pick up this interference during mixing. To take "The Bends" by Radiohead as an example, the album was recorded in the UK; however, a lot of the album displays the frequency corresponding to the NTSC standard (15750Hz). Sure enough, the album was (re)mixed in the USA.

For me as a listener, this sound is very off-putting; there are a few albums I am unable to listen to due to it. If nothing else, I feel like the presence of this tone should be paid attention to when carrying out the inevitable next round of remasters.

I'd like to hear about whether you have encountered this interference, whether as a listener or as an engineer. Any comments would be very welcome!

Thanks,

Harry

Robert C, jfeldt, trd and 3 others like this.
  2. c-eling