£24,840! To see Adele!!!

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Pastafarian, May 30, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pastafarian

Pastafarian Forum Resident Thread Starter

ianuaditis and starduster like this.
  2. Oatsdad

Oatsdad Oat, Biscuits, Abbie & Mitzi: Best Dogs Ever

I paid about $400 to see the Stones last year - that was face for a field seat.

If we involve inflation, though, the most I paid was for the Stones in 1989: the ticket was $250, which is about $480 now.

And it was a huge percentage of my income at the time! I was a college student then who worked part-time at a restaurant. $250 equaled about 4-5 nights work for me back then!

3. adm62

adm62 Senior Member

I could put a ticket up for sale at $200,000. Doesn't mean someone will buy it though.

Most I paid is $350 for CSN and Y. Second row seat, was worth it ...

4. Pastafarian

Total rip off, equivalent of £19, Led Zeppelin Earle's Court 1975!:biglaugh:

5. Stefano G.

Stefano G. Ab alto, speres alteri quod feceris.

Everyone (not just artists..) has its own audience. (Chinese proverb)

6. Gaslight

Gaslight ⎧⚍⎫⚑

I believe the answer to that would be "because they feel it's worth the money to do that".

7. the sands

the sands Forum Resident

Just regular price. It has changed a lot since I frequented concerts in the 80s/90s. Then it was the young at the front. Now it is the rich at the front, and the rest in the back.

Chris DeVoe likes this.
  8. Bowieboy

Bowieboy Forum Resident

Let's be fair... if this was Sir Paul or the Stones or Dylan or someone, people here would be talking about what a bargain it is lol.

I do find high ticket prices ridiculous... I know artists need to make money since album sales are trash, but Adele is one of the few artists out there who moves units the way they did 20-30 years ago, she is making money via traditional album sales.

Fastnbulbous and JohnnyQuest like this.
  9. jimod99

jimod99 Daddy or chips?