About the KEF Q150 bass

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Gilm, Oct 21, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gilm

Gilm New Member Thread Starter

Hi, I'm kinda new in the "audiophile" world. I've tried already quite a few speakers/amps and recently I've sold my Q acoustics 3020s for a pair of KEF Q150. I'm quite happy for the sound except for the bass response and I don't know if it's because of my amp, or if it's just how they're supposed to sound like.
    I get very loud deep bass, they sound quite bloated and they lack definition / punchiness. I don't feel the bass when in certain sound I know I should feel it. They're currently powered by a Marantz M-CR511 (40w in 8ohms), could the problem be there?
    To be more specific, they're in a 20 square meters room, both on 60mm stands, 30cm from the wall.

I really like the details I get in the medium and high frequency but I'm thinking of returning them because of the lack of punchiness. In this small room I also don't want to purchase a subwoofer.

2. DyersEve726

DyersEve726 Schmo Diggy

Are you using the port plugs? I have found ALL of my KEF speakers sound better with the port plugs. You might want to pull them out from the wall a bit more also. Don't give up until you're sure you have good placement. You might be sending back a speaker you actually really like.

bluemooze and bhazen like this.
  3. Gilm

I tried them with and without the port plugs but I didn't get a really big difference bass wise (at least in the punchiness department), and I got the feeling that I was loosing some soundstage, is this possible? I'm gonna try to move them a bit more in the room but I don't have a lot of different places I can set them here. Sound wise, it's definitely an improvement over the Q acoustics but it's just that bass response that's bothering me.

4. DyersEve726

DyersEve726 Schmo Diggy