Advice for someone trying to set up their first system

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by The Hairy Lemon, Aug 15, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Hairy Lemon

The Hairy Lemon Active Member Thread Starter

Hi guys,

So I’ve been collecting vinyl for a little over 3 years now and am finally in a situation where I can afford, and have room for my own system.
    Up until now Ive been using my dads system. This isn’t ideal as I have to go home (over 2 hours away) if I want to listen to my records, which I usually do at least one weekend a month.

Ive done extensive research over the past few months about what turntable to get, what else I need etc.
    The thing is I don’t really know much about what I should be prioritising.
    I want to get a system that I can be pretty happy with for the foreseeable future so I am willing to spend a decent amount(€3000-€4000).
    From what I’ve read the clearaudio concept seems to be the best turntable in my price range.

I know a lot of this is down to personal preference but there seems to be a lot of knowledgeable people here so I was hoping you could help with a few questions.

Is the MC worth the extra money over the MM or would I be better using my budget on other areas?

Roughly how much should I be spending on a preamp and speakers and does anyone have any suggestions?

Ive seen a lot of people talking about cables on here. Should I be spending some money on these or are they an unnecessary extra. If they are very important, any recommendations?

Sorry for the long post and thanks in advance for the help.

WapatoWolf likes this.
  2. Helom

Helom Forum member

The basic Clearaudio Concept with magnetic tonearm bearings is sensitive to footfalls - better to upgrade the tonearm to the mechanical bearing type - I believe that's the Verify arm.