Analog Experts: how does my stylus look?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by TerpStation, Dec 5, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TerpStation

TerpStation "Music's not for everyone." Thread Starter

I have had this one for over 1.5 years, have no idea how many hours on it. Have been noticing less detail in my vinyl playback recently.....but that kind of thing can just be in one's head.... Can you tell from these photos if this stylus needs replacement or whether in good health or do i need to get a closer picture? Its a Hana Slmc.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. 12" 45rpm

12" 45rpm Forum Resident

I am no expert, but these pictures can't conclude anything. You need some special kind of microscopic to see the wear..

Helom and Leonthepro like this.
  3. jupiterboy

jupiterboy Forum Residue

Yeah, you need a specialized rig, and the wear is simply little shiny patches on the diamond as viewed from above. Loss of detail is not a common complaint, but distortion is usually the audio clue.

Leonthepro likes this.
  4. The Dragon

The Dragon Forum Resident

No way to tell from a photo. It takes a stylus inspection microscope with the correct lighting to show the flat spots worn into the contact patches on the diamond. You have to position the diamond with the tip facing up with lights at 45 degrees on both sides shining light directly onto the contact areas. The flat spots will reflect the light and show as visible wear. Shure manufactured a specialized microscope for this. I have seen others make home rigs that will accomplish the same thing. If you are worried about it, just replace it. There is really no other way to tell. By the time you start to hear distortion, it is probably already causing record damage. (YMMV)

5. TerpStation

Thanks much for looking guys. A few closer ones, but very hard to focus.....perhaps its time to get a new one...?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

6. jupiterboy

jupiterboy Forum Residue

7. Leonthepro