1. This day in history: January 12, 2002. 9:49 AM, California time. The Steve Hoffman Music Forums officially launched with this thread. Thank you for 20 years of music, discussion, and great memories! Join our "Thank You!" thread, and we'll see you in the forum!
    Dismiss Notice

Anyone ever do business with this online seller?

Discussion in 'Music, Movie and Hardware Store Guide' started by Six String, Feb 27, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Six String

    Six String Senior Member Thread Starter

    Last edited: Feb 27, 2016
  2. Opeth

    Opeth Forum Resident

    Contact Us
    BuyMusicStudio, Inc.
    4/21 Billabong St
    Stafford QLD
    4053 - Australia
    Tel: +61280036999

    could it be cuz Australia?
  3. Six String

    Six String Senior Member Thread Starter

    Oh, yeah. Of course. I didn't notice that part or it wasn't very obvious. Thanks.
  4. Agitater

    Agitater Forum Resident

    Not really. The About Us page states on the bottom that all prices are in USD. The company claims (also on the About Us page) that its price are lower (whatever that means) because, "Starting from europe, asia and australia. By forming a team, then we set up the company BuyMusic studio which consists of a few people. So, all our products are cheaper than our competitors because we sell the goods directly from the warehouse / distributor."
  5. Agitater

    Agitater Forum Resident

    Everything about everything rarely fits on a Home page. Click the Contact Us and/or the About Us links to get more information.

    However . . . resellerratings.com doesn't yet list the site, so I'd be wary of doing business with BuyMusicStudio.com until there are some reviews. 'Sides that, if you're in Sacramento then shipping costs from Aus and (possibly) customs/duties/tariffs will more that eat up any savings.
  6. Bill Hart

    Bill Hart Forum Resident

    I thought most prices in Australia for luxury products that are imported there were higher than elsewhere.
  7. wavertonwood

    wavertonwood Forum Resident

    I never come across this website before but a few observations:

    It looks like the Australian address is possibly residential. It may be worth doing a google street view to confirm or prove me wrong.

    Also Aussie companies generally end in the suffix "Pty ltd" rather than "inc".

    If your research confirms the company is Aussie registered there is strict consumer laws in place: The Australian Consumer Law »
  8. eddiel

    eddiel Forum Resident

    Toronto, Canada
    To me this site screams scam to me.

    I came across websites that were similar years ago when I was doing some research on McIntosh products.

    The wording on all their policies is similar to other scam sites I came across. The return policy, shipping policy, all worded to make it sound like you are almost over protected and with prices that are really low...in addition there are only two ways to pay; Money Order and Banker Draft. All key components of scam sites I found years ago.

    I also found this: I just checked if buymusicstudio.com is trustworthy on scamadviser.com. » Not sure how legit this site is though!

    If this site is not listed on any of the official manufacturers website as an authorised dealer I'd be even more wary of buying from them.

    I can;t say it is for sure, but I would tread carefully.
  9. John Buchanan

    John Buchanan I'm just a headphone kind of fellow. Mysphere 3.2.

  10. Agitater

    Agitater Forum Resident

    From the BuyMusicStudio.com About Us page:

    "Why, Our Price Cheaper?
    Perhaps many will be asking questions like that. Previously we were a team of workers in all music instrument distributors located in various countries. Starting from europe, asia and australia. By forming a team, then we set up the company BuyMusic studio which consists of a few people. So, all our products are cheaper than our competitors because we sell the goods directly from the warehouse / distributor."

    So . . . the site seems to suggest that its partners are multi-located and are therefore able to ship directly from countries other than Australia. Then again, not every partner location can possibly have direct access to everything listed for sale on the site. So they might ship (duty free) from one partner location to another - an 'inventory' transfer - but that seems expensive. It all sounds exhausting. And oddly fishy.

    Until there's a rating of some sort on resellerratings.com I'd personally stay away from off-shore sites. I mean what about warranty issues, shipping delays, backorder delays, sorting out time zone differences if you ever have to phone about a problem, etc.? There are plenty of solid domestic online sellers, so taking a chance on a new guy is not necessary until he's established.
  11. alexandermarano

    alexandermarano New Member

    Raleigh, NC
    I rolled the dice and bought a rare item from www.buymusicstudio.com via Paypal. They created a tracking number with Aus Post and then, surprise, nothing ever shipped or showed up. PayPal was able to dispute and get my money back.

    0/10, definitely a scam. But A+ for Paypal - they rock.

  12. Agitater

    Agitater Forum Resident

    No A+ or anything of the kind for Paypal, IMO, though it's absolutely great that you got your money back.

    Repeat offenders - offenders that continually demonstrate enormous amounts of awful behavior - aren't cut off anywhere near quickly enough by Paypal. It often takes a concerted effort by consumers through months and months complaining to Paypal about ripoffs by these scammers before Paypal will even begin a review.

    Paypal takes its fees, gets an awful lot completely wrong, quite often refuses to admit when its own systems fail (processes, online transaction scripts, etc., etc.), and only grudgingly dumps a bad retail account from which (like all Paypal accounts) it takes its fees off the top of every transaction.

    In my view, Paypal's efforts to curb scammers are grossly inadequate.
    Dave likes this.
  13. Audio_nirvana

    Audio_nirvana Member

    Thanks for sharing your experience Alex. I almost considered buying a BAT VK-55, but the price was too good to be true so I did a quick search and found this thread.
    Thanks to everyone
  14. Dave

    Dave Esoteric Audio Research Specialist™

    Also so large clues in the sites wording under Categories. Audio Equipment(s), Computer Audio(s) :wtf: A proper English speaker, in a country full of them, would never pluralize these two categories.
  15. InStepWithTheStars

    InStepWithTheStars It's a miracle, let it alter you

    North Carolina
    But common sense would dictate that the same rationale could be applied to "vinyls" as well. Alas...
  16. Hokus Solus Pokus

    Hokus Solus Pokus Member

    Hi Guys, Thanks god for your forum to exist. I was on the edge to order something, while after having received the Bank Account information form this BuyMusicStudio.com afew minutes ago, i was surprised to get a civil name instead of a company name for the Bank Acc user +
    Then, i started Googling.. and here i am. More than this... I have check about the info and i am giving it to you... The Swift CODE points out as cc below: BNI bank in Jakarta so well why a Aussie would open a bank account in Indonesia?
    I did also browse with Google Map the Billabong Stanford Street... to discover a Business area and ''oh great'', another (Morris Brother) Music Store. I have found their Contact and actually i am waiting from them to reply to me, as I have asked them if this BuyMusicStudio.com exist as a warehouse at the 4/21 Billabong street Stafford, etc. Let's see now... but i am disappointed as hell... as i had found a (old stock) but Brand new Fender Mustang Cobain Signature Sonic Blue, as mentioned on BUYMUSICSTUDIO.COM!!! pffff... discontinued so well... rare to get now.

    Branch Name -
    Address BNI BUILDING
    City JAKARTA

    Ok Cheers!!! well let's see if i'll receive an email from the real physical music store in Billabong St Stafford in Brisbane!!!

    >> ++ I just checked if buymusicstudio.com is trustworthy on scamadviser.com.
  17. Hokus Solus Pokus

    Hokus Solus Pokus Member


    OK so, i did receive a reply from MORRIS BROTHER, a real music store located on the Billabong Stattford Street in Brisbane, Australia, and the reply was mentioning that i wasn't the only one to ask if the buymusiconline does exist as a warehouse or something, the Morris shop has been contacting by numerous people who after ordering goods, never received it and was asking then Morris Shop about it... as Google bring us close to them... so well forget guys about it!! and i am very disappointed as i finally found a bran new old stock Fender Mustang Sonic Blue Cobain guitar, as this one is discontinued... well, maybe someone here can help me in finding another 'real' one? even second hand!! Thanls ahave a good day/!!!!
    zphage likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page