Anyone use McIntosh MX110z with a MC275VI?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by theron d, Sep 10, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. theron d

theron d Forum Resident Thread Starter

Considering a MC275VI with my MX110z but it requires at least a 100k impedance per its manual. The MC275VI has a 47k input impedance. Not a 10:1 ratio.

When I called McIntosh their technical stated that ALL Macs are designed to work fine together. That’s their position.

Looking for any real world users out there that can comment? Many thanks

2. theron d

3. theron d

bbbump…

4. motorstereo

motorstereo Forum Resident

Imo it sounds like a great reason to update the 60+ year old 110. As I'm sure you know the mx110's fetch top dollar and would make for a nice down payment on a more compatible preamp which the mc275 is certainly deserving of.
    I have no experience with that pairing as the only amp I used my 110 with was a mc2500 during the short time it was here. I wasn't pleased with that combination and felt the 110 wasn't up to the task of driving the mc2500 properly.

4-2-7 likes this.
  5. KT88

KT88 Senior Member

It'll work fine. You'll get more transparency and current drive with a modern preamp though. I am working on an MX110Z now, and will try it out with an amp that has a 47k ohm input impedance.
    -Bill

4-2-7 likes this.
  6. theron d

I hear you but personally like what the MX110z does, kinda looks through “rose colored glasses”. Im running through an MC2505 (first mac solid state) but am curious still if anyone uses this 60 year old tube pre/tuner with a modern MC275 VI with success?

fortherecord likes this.
  7. KT88

KT88 Senior Member