B&W 706 S2 or Kef R3

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Donaldski, Jan 18, 2021.

1. Donaldski

Donaldski New Member Thread Starter

Hello, I am currently looking to update my B&W 686 speakers. There are two speaker options that interest me, the B&W 706 s2 or the Kef R3 or other suggestions, but it's okay to have two choices. My amp is a Marantz PM7000N. My musical preferences, modern and old Jazz, such as Louis Armstrong, classical (eras; baroque, classical, modern and contemporary), female voice such as Norah Jones ... I wanted to know your opinion on this subject. I live in Canada. So, don't suggest brands that can only be found in Europe. Thank you

Echoes Myron likes this.
  2. Morbius

Morbius Forum Resident

I have no personal experience with the B&W 706 s2 but the You Tube reviewer Tharbamar has used them for a reference when reviewing speakers and other hi fi equipment for quite a long time. I tend to respect his opinion more than a lot of other reviewers on You Tube because he's an honest and thoughtful guy who actually as some technical knowledge about what he's reviewing. Since you have hands on experience with B&Ws that might easily be your preference.

I have owned the KEF R3 for about a year and find it to be an excellent speaker. When I was investigating various speakers to include in some planned system updates I was impressed by all the modern tech that went into them, that they were solidly put together, very handsomely finished and sold at a very attractive price. Living with them I've found them to have a very well organized soundstage and pinpoint imaging. The bass goes deep considering their size, the treble sounds natural and they have a beautiful midrange. They cover all the genres I listen to which include string quartets, acoustic jazz, rock and vocals.

Jazzabana and Donald Burger like this.
  3. Donaldski

Thanks Morbius!