Blues legend Robert Johnson, an interesting twist?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Steve-oh, Mar 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Steve-oh

Steve-oh Senior Member Thread Starter

Came across this web site via Slowhand, the Eric Clapton mailing list. Proposes an interesting theory on Robert Johnson. I'm no expert on recordings/speeds, but it is interesting to consider:

http://www.touched.co.uk/press/rjnote.html

2. Gary Mack

Gary Mack Active Member

I thought record speed had been standardized at 78rpm by 1930? If so, then the theory is debunked. If not, then someone would have to explain exactly why someone would want to record him slow so playback would be way fast - it makes no sense.

GM

3. MrPeabody

MrPeabody New Member

In fact, record speed was standardized in 1925 at 78.26 rpm. The theory is intriguing, but unlikely.

4. Guy from Ohio

Guy from Ohio Senior Member

It makes the assumption that RJ tuned his guitar like we do today. Yes it crazy to play his stuff with a capo that high up - but it's unlikely RJ used a capo and like many of the blues players at that time he just tuned his guitar high.

5. DanG

DanG On Green Dolphin Street

Play the Crossroads examples, fast and slow. Pretty amazing. The slow version sounds very authentic.

6. joelbertrand

joelbertrand Forum Resident

I've always had the feeling that something went wrong with the pitch of those recordings way before I read this. Always sounded to me like Mickey Mouse was playing banjo. Listen to the timbre of both guitar and voice and the slow versions sound lot more authentic. I make the assumption that they played with the pitch to create the illusion that RJ played faster. The record speed was standardized in 1925 at 78.26 rpm but who knows if everybody followed the rules...

7. Guy from Ohio