Buffy In HD- Who Is Responsible for this Abomination?

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by JamieC, Apr 25, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JamieC

JamieC Senior Member Thread Starter

2. Thievius

Thievius Blue Oyster Cult-ist

But its in HD! You're welcome.

Seriously though, complete disaster. But I'm not sure who's responsible. I had assumed it was Fox.

But yeah. Stick with the correct aspect ratio and color timing of the DVDs. They're still affordable and the best way to get your Sunnydale fix.

3. Synthfreek

Synthfreek I’m a ray of sunshine & bastion of positivity

I just watched this yesterday. Had no idea this was handled so poorly. Some of the reveals from the aspect ratio change are hilarious. There's just crew members standing there in frame.

CrazyCatz likes this.
  4. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

I've been hearing about this for about a year, I think. I'm sure glad it came out over streaming and not with a blu-ray release, because I'm afraid I would have jumped on a blu-ray release immediately without understanding just how messed up these are. Geez. Just use the original TV aspect ratio for goodness' sake. Don't know why studios are so damn insistent on making everything "widescreen" even if it means butchering the content.

5. Deesky

Deesky Forum Resident

It's simple. That's what the great unwashed demand these days. Showing things in 4:3 is tantamount to it being in B&W!

CrazyCatz likes this.
  6. Thievius

Its crazy some of the things highlighted in that video. Such as - zooming in MORE than they did on the original 1:33 aspect ratio in some scenes. So not only do you have instances where the widescreen exposes elements never meant to appear onscreen (around the sides), but also times where elements meant to be highlighted are lost due to inexplicable zoom shots.