Cantilever microscope pictures - Can you guys verify if these are usable?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by ToxicSoundtracks, Jul 8, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ToxicSoundtracks

ToxicSoundtracks Well-Known Member Thread Starter

i just got my new digital microscope today. it was recommended on a youtube video. it wsa really cheap and it works pretty good. if anyone wants me to post where to get it lemme know. i just want to confirm if they look bent or usable. they look good to me but i want to make sure so that i don't ruin my records. there are 3 different styli used here. they look straight for the most part but im not so sure if they aren't slightly bent to the side.

EDIT: I goofed i meant to say cantilever. the styli on these look fine. but i couldn't figure out a good way to take a good pic of the styli on the microscope. i just got iit today so im still learning.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 8, 2020
    slcaudiophile likes this.
  2. patient_ot

patient_ot Senior Member

Hard to tell anything from those pics. Sometimes a stylus will lean in the rubber suspension very slightly one way or another due to too much or too little anti-skate. If it's only a small amount, probably nothing to be overly concerned about. Nothing looks bent or ruined if we are talking the cantilever. As for the diamond itself impossible to tell anything without 200X magnification under good lighting and you will typically need a lab type microscope for that.

ToxicSoundtracks likes this.
  3. ToxicSoundtracks

ok. is there anyway you can suggest how i can take a good snapshot of the stylus? thanks.

4. patient_ot

patient_ot Senior Member

Not really. What is goal here? Are these styli used or new?

5. TarnishedEars

TarnishedEars Forum Resident