dcc gold compact disk of the beach boys pet sounds

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by mrtofumofu, Mar 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mrtofumofu

mrtofumofu New Member Thread Starter

Because i am a noob i need some help.
    What kind of system do i need to play a dcc?
    Why is the dcc pet sounds so expensive?
    Lastly, does anyone know where i can get a copy of it?
    thanks in advance

2. IanL

IanL Senior Member

DCC Pet Sounds is/was available on LP and also Gold CD. The CD is much easier to find and cheaper as well. It can be played on any CD player. It retailed for around $30 when it was new. And now it has been out of print for quite a while, so that is the reason it is fairly expensive. Along with the fact that it sounds great and it is the version of this album that many people like best. I got mine off ebay. They are pretty common there. Good luck and welcome to the forum.

john lennonist and black sheriff like this.
  3. reechie

reechie Senior Member

DCC gold discs are playable on all CD players. They're normal CD's, but instead of aluminum, like regular CD's, they're pressed using 24 karat gold. This was one reason they were so expensive (priced about double a normal CD). Some people believe the gold made them sound better, but probably the reason the DCC's sound so good was the extra care that was taken in the mastering of them.

The DCC Pet Sounds goes for high prices today because it was a limited edition of a very in demand title. It wasn't in stores very long, those who got a copy are generally holding on to it tightly, and those who want one are willing to pay big bucks for it.

As to where to find it, it's long out of print, and available only on the collector's market. Try eBay, record shows and swap meets, independent record stores that deal in collectables and used records, and maybe listings in "Goldmine" or "Discoveries" magazines.

john lennonist and audiomixer like this.
  4. Propinquity