Decent Streaming Setup Under $750?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by garthhudson, Nov 29, 2022.

1. garthhudson

garthhudson Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hi friendly friends! I just bought some new Klipsch RP-600M ii speakers (on sale) to pair with my Onkyo TX-8220 Stereo Receiver and Onkyo CD player.

I'd love to start dipping my toe into hi-res streaming. I have a Qobuz subscription and Macbook, but need a way to get best quality between laptop and receiver. I like using the Qobuz app on my television (Hisense TV), but not sure if I can get hi-res w/ simple DAC. Also the optical input on TV seems busted...

Was hoping to get something reasonable under $750. Any ideas?

2. Oddiofyl

Oddiofyl Forum Resident

Easy…. Bluesound Node. Then add a DAC later. Good user interface, continuous updates. Very good sound quality, works with almost any Apple or Android as long as it meets min App requirements

I think the latest one outputs digital Via Tos, Coax , and USB. You can connect it digitally to your receiver and may find you like it’s DAC better

I bought a Vault 2i in late 2019 and it totally hanged the way I listen to music. Wish I had done it sooner

Rick58, dj_w, C10 and 5 others like this.
  3. Dhreview16

Dhreview16 Forum Resident

Bluesound.

Glmoneydawg, garthhudson and Khorn like this.
  4. Agitater

Agitater Forum Resident

USB out of Macbook (use an Apple Camera Connection kit dongle if needed) to a Topping E50 DAC ($299?). Analog output from E50 to your receiver. Run Qobuz (or TIDAL, or consider Roon) on the Macbook. You’ll have all the high-res, glorious sound you can handle.

The Topping E50 is an excellent DAC.

5. Bill Mac

Bill Mac Forum Resident