Did Ozzy write any of his own music?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Red, Dec 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Red

Red Forum Resident Thread Starter

This question struck when I couldn't sleep (due to flu/fever, 13 days now!) last night :)

Did Ozzy write any of his own music at all? I'd be surprised if he did, although there are so many similarities between his first batch of albums one would think it is the same writer.

2. ACK!

ACK! Senior Member

Although he's credited as a co-writer on many of his songs, I believe he's had little or no involvement in the songwriting process.

BluesOvertookMe likes this.
  3. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

According to Bill Ward, Ozzy wrote "Who Are You" by himself on the synthesizer. And it shows.

I doubt he's had very much to do with the music on his solo albums, in spite of the ridiculous credits. Bark At The Moon states, "All songs written by Ozzy Osbourne." :laugh:

4. intv7

intv7 Senior Member

Bob Daisley allegedly did a lot of ghost writing for Ozzy in his early solo career. I think Geezer Butler used to write Sabbath's lyrics -- Tony Iommi wrote the riffs -- not sure if Ozzy came up with the melody lines, though -- it would seem to me that whoever was writing the lyrics would also be writing the melodies, but anything's possible. I always thought that Ozzy's songwriting credits were more than likely bogus.

Maidenpriest likes this.
  5. Almost Simon

Almost Simon Forum Resident

I think most of the Sabbath tunes were Iommi/Butler compositions with the royalties split 4 ways.

Not sure about his solo work though.

6. dkmonroe

This reminds me that both Bill Ward and Geezer Butler have stated that Geezer wrote the lyrics the overwhelming majority of the time, but that Ozzy interpreted them. I think Geezer said, "He just spits them out all Ozzy." So it's likely that Ozzy has had some after-the-fact input on polishing the lyrics and melodies.