Sinatra / Capitol Sound Quality, etc.: "Frank Sinatra Sings for Only the Lonely" (1958)

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by MLutthans, Feb 20, 2010.

1. MLutthans

MLutthans That's my spaghetti, Chewbacca! Staff Thread Starter

I'm just getting started on this one, but a page with some mono samples is now available. Of course, stereo LPs and CDs will be following soon.

If anybody has some nice mono clips they would like to share, please PM me.

Page one can be found here, and as always, comments are welcomed!

Frank Sinatra Sings for Only the Lonely - 1958 »

Last edited: Mar 5, 2016
    Sim2, Rob Hughes, Rickchick and 2 others like this.
  2. rangerjohn

rangerjohn Forum Resident

Wonderful, Matt! I've been waiting eagerly for you to post this. Thanks so much. Can't wait to read on.

3. DJ WILBUR

DJ WILBUR The Cappuccino Kid

another award winning hoffman thread Matt, your samples and lively commentary are a gas to read and listen to...I may have something to contribute, lemme rummage around...

4. Evan L

Evan L Beatologist

The best FS LP for me......

Evan

Price.pittsburgh and funknik like this.
  5. rangerjohn

rangerjohn Forum Resident

One of the best LPs of all time, period.

6. Greg1954

Greg1954 New Member

Out of the MFSL LP/CD mono copies, I like the LP, it's more natural and open sounding.

The D29 pressing, under the surface noise, is quite good, it has more of the 'puff of life' than the MFSL. If it was in clean undamaged condition, perhaps it'd be my favorite.

Looking forward to the stereo samples, and see of there are any good complete stereo versions beyond the Walsh CD, which pretty much stinks. This album does sound good in stereo, I prefer it that way, added tape hiss besides.

guitarman1969 likes this.
  7. MLutthans

If any of you guys happens to have a 9 o'clock rainbow label stereo pressing or a gray-label US mono pressing, could you PM me? (Sorry to come begging, but I'd like to include these on the sample pages I'm working on.)