Get my Marantz 2220b restored, or get new receiver?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by O Don Piano, May 24, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. O Don Piano

O Don Piano Senior Member Thread Starter

I have probably posted about this before!
    I just don't know what to do!
    I still have my 2220b I got for Christmas in 1978. It's my only receiver.
    Knobs crackle; buttons don't engage entirely sometimes; sounds like a channel might be a tad weak; needs new LEDs, radio isn't terribly reliable.
    I tried "De-Oxit" but it goes back to crackling- even worse.
    I am NOT a techie nor do I have patience to do it myself! (I've been a pro guitarist for 35 years and can't be bothered with setting them up!)

I went to Audio Element in Pasadena a few months ago and they said "The Marantz is great, but it's time for a new receiver". What they showed me was half the size of my 2220b, no EQ knobs (I usually don't fuss with EQ, but it's nice to boost up when necessary. Would anything newer be something I should consider?

I do plug my SLQ2, Scarlett 2i2 from my MacBook Pro, BD player, TV, and bluetooth (rarely used) into my receiver. Does anyone know of a Marantz restorer, preferably in SoCal? (I'll go out of state, but I don't have the original packing anymore)

I do consider myself someone who cares about audio quality- although I can't afford a really great system. The Marantz was wonderful sounding until a few years ago!

I am willing to spend up to $450 tops to try and rectify the problem. I don't make much money and who knows WHAT is gonna happen with the current pandemic situation as far a keeping my job(s), but a stereo setup is crucial for my soul.

What say you?
    Thanks in advance!

2. Strat-Mangler

Strat-Mangler Personal Survival Daily Record-Breaker

I'd get something new. $450 to restore that one is overkill. It'd likely cost you less to buy another already restored one.

Dennis0675, O Don Piano and Rick58 like this.