Guitar sound on Big Star's 'Radio City'

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Damián, May 12, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Damián

Damián Forum Hall Of Fame Thread Starter

Hi everyone

I've been obsessing for the last couple days over Big Star's second album, and I was wondering (again) if any of you guys knew what gear Alex Chilton was using at the time it was recorded.

I play a little guitar myself but I'm not very good at spotting the sounds of different guitars/amps/etc., not having tried many but my trusty Squier Strat.

The sound is so absolutely magical, so shimmering it's unreal. It sounds like being stuck on George's 'Nowhere Man' (or was that John?) for a lifetime.. :love:

I assume you must already know I'm talking about the guitar parts on, for example, 'O My Soul' (very first bars), 'Life Is White' (has anyone else been absolutely struck by the 'wrong' chord at the very beginning of the song, the one that sounds like Alex was just f*cking around.. like he just banged all the strings without fretting any chord?), .. and/or all of 'September Gurls'. :D

Anyway, just curious.

Best regards,

Damián

2. reechie

reechie Senior Member

I'd always been told that Alex played a Fender Stratocaster on Radio City, though I couldn't give you any real info on amps/pedals, etc. I've always liked the bright, ringing tone he got on that album.

kt66brooklyn likes this.
  3. HeavyDistortion

HeavyDistortion Senior Member

I have always thought that Alex Chilton, as noted by Reechie, played a Strat on "Radio City". Also, it certainly sounds like he is playing the Strat through a Fender tube amplifier, which would account for the bright, shimmering tone that he got on that recording.

Ed Hurdle
    HeavyDistortion

kt66brooklyn likes this.
  4. RickH

RickH Connoisseur of deep album cuts

Here's a link (if you haven't been to it already) where you may be able to do a little clicking here and there to find an answer: