Help with a buzzy turntable!

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by JWB, Aug 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JWB

JWB New Member Thread Starter

My turntable buzzes even though I have the ground connected...but it stops if I touch the ground with my fingers.

I also have a Yamaha MD8 mini-disc recorder in the same room and it buzzes through the inputs when I connect a microphone. It goes away somewhat if I put my hand on the microphone. I tried plugging into a different socket and switching microphones but it doesn't change.

The turntable always buzzed a little, but I moved my stereo system a few feet and stripped the ground wires and tried to connect that way...and it got worse!

I don't care so much about the MD8 because I can take it somewhere else, but I really need to transfer some rare records soon! I just got a minty mono "After Bathing At Baxters".

I'm not an electrician! HELP!

2. cunningham

cunningham Forum Resident

I wonder if your ground at the wall plug is intact. Can you test to see if that is working? They sell little plug-in testers that light up different color configurations for status of the outlet. Older houses or apartments often have improperly wired plugs.

good luck, this can be frustrating.

3. MITBeta

MITBeta New Member

You can also use a multi-meter to test this: Check for continuity between the neutal slot and the ground (the neutral is the wide slot on a polar outlet).

4. Gary

Gary Nauga Gort! Staff

I think you're right. When JBW said the buzz when away when the wires were touched, the act of touching the wires seems to have created a ground!

Perhaps you should try another plug? Use another ground?

5. zappa

zappa New Member

congrats on the mono baxter's! i would try another ground AND check the outlet.

6. XMIAudioTech

XMIAudioTech New Member