Help with figuring out what I should upgrade next.

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Sad Squid, Feb 24, 2021.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sad Squid

Sad Squid Member Thread Starter

Hey everyone,
    I’m new to this forum and I’ve heard it’s much more helpful than r/audiophile, so here I am. My current set up is:
    • Klipsch RP-6000f
    • Cambridge AXA35
    • Topping D50s DAC
    • Raspberry Pi w/ Allo DigiOne SPDIF Output HAT
    Ever since I've gotten it I've loved it and I've experimented with speaker positioning and room treatment and I've found that what draws me to HiFi so much is the detail and soundstage/imaging.

I now have around $1500 to invest in my system and am looking for advice on where to best utilize it. I have thought about the Decware Zen Triode and an SVS SB-1000 subwoofer. The issue is that I have no experience with tubes and I do not know what to expect. Will it be fast enough? Will the high-frequency information be impacted? I know that my system is relatively budget for most people, I am just very unfamiliar when it comes to gear with a decent price tag on it and am looking for guidance in the right direction.

2. Apesbrain

Apesbrain Forum Resident

Interesting that you mention the Decware amp as it would work well with your Klipsch speakers. "Soundstage/imaging" is what those flea-watt SET amps are supposed to be all about. Unfortunately, they charge a 10% restocking fee if you return it (plus you're on the hook for return shipping). It's a risk, but should be interesting.

Just curious, what software are you running on your RPi?

3. avanti1960

avanti1960 Forum Resident

Cayin - A-50T MKII Integrated Amplifier

dont fear the big bad tube amp!
    this one is excellent and has a great reputation for being a high value product.