How Hard Is It, Really, to Sing While Playing Bass or Drums?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Benjamin Edge, Sep 11, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Benjamin Edge

Benjamin Edge Forum Resident Thread Starter

Exactly how hard is it for an individual bass guitarist or drummer to simultaneously sing and keep the beat?

There are several exceptions here

Drummers who can sing, too:
    Ringo Starr (The Beatles)
    Levon Helm (The Band)
    Phil Collins (Genesis)
    Roger Taylor (Queen)
    Jade Lee (Book of Love)

Bassists who can sing, too:
    Paul McCartney (The Beatles)
    John Entwistle (The Who)
    Jack Bruce (Cream)
    Phil Lynott (Thin Lizzy)
    Geddy Lee (Rush)
    Kelly Groucutt (Electric Light Orchestra)
    Sting (The Police)
    Tony Lewis (The Outfield)

~Ben

2. soniclovenoize

soniclovenoize Forum Resident

I've been playing bass for 20 years, and I've always found it very difficult to sing and play bass, especially if one has fairly elaborate basslines.

Comet01, keyXVII, GodShifter and 15 others like this.
  3. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

It's difficult to sing and play the bass unless your bass line is really, really basic. I got to the point where I can front a band comfortably but I have to really dumb down the bass lines. Guys like Geddy Lee who just blast off a flurry of notes while singing just astound me, I don't know how they do it.

4. Benjamin Edge

Benjamin Edge Forum Resident Thread Starter

Most of these candidates do not sing lead vocals -- you have to try very hard to be like a Paul McCartney (when on bass) or a Phil Collins (when on drums).

~Ben

MikaelaArsenault likes this.
  5. soniclovenoize

soniclovenoize Forum Resident