Humble DAC review time. Bryston BDA-3, RME ADI PRO BE and Benchmark DAC3 ( again)

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Tone?, Jun 7, 2023.

1. Tone?

Tone? Forum Resident Thread Starter

(I gave these DACs over two months as not to rush judgement )

Just fyi, these are my subjective reviews of these items.
    Yes I actually did take some measurements of them.
    Funny thing is , that I didn’t find anything in the measurements to describe their different sounds.
    Total novice at measuring. But special thanks to @Archimago for helping me along the way and making it fun as well

RME ADI2 pro Black Edition

not too bad.

timbre : ok, nothing to write home about. Things sounded ok. Not strikingly real
    Soundstage : small. Pretty narrow and quite shallow. The flattest of the bunch as far as depth
    Weight to instruments : I kinda put this also in timbre. It was ok. Nothing special again.

Overall impression. Meh. Not Impressed at all .

Bryston BDA-3

Timbe: better than the RME. More texture Too tight tho. I’ll get into this later
    Soundstage. Large and not fake. Great attack. A but too much space between instruments without presenting the music as a whole.
    Attack and percussiveness is this DACs super strength. This thing punches. More than any DAC I’ve tried

It was just too tight. God this is hard to put into words . Imagine a cello bow. The Bryston was too tight so it took away from the broadness of the bow. Made it more narrow if that makes sense

I would get this DAC maybe just for pop music if money was no object

Benchmark DAC3

I had to come back to this one again.
    This time I kept it.
    What made the difference?
    Using HQplayer with one or two filters.
    Made the soundstage deeper and more majestic.
    Tons of detail.
    timbre: almost as good as my Marantz and sometimes better.
    Marantz is a touch softer and more majestic.
    Bass definition is amazing

Soundstage is naturally as big as the recording