If you didn't brick-wall-filter (anti-alias filter) a recording, would it REALLY sound bad?*

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by head_unit, Mar 29, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. head_unit

head_unit Senior Member Thread Starter

As an electrical engineer I'm quite familiar with Shannon's sampling theory. For those who aren't, let me crudely recap that when recording digital data in a "PCM/multibit" system, say at 48 kHz,* you are supposed to put in a super steep "brick wall" filter to cut out incoming analog above half the sampling (recording) frequency. This is to prevent aliasing, i.e. a 25 kHz tone would be miscoded as 25 - 24 = 1 kHz. The tradeoff is that the brick wall filters introduce time distortions and allegedly make bad sound.

What I wonder, though, is-what if you DIDN'T "brick wall"? Would it really truly sound bad?

I would kinda think there is very little sound power at or above 25 kHz, and that if it did alias, it would be at a pretty low level. So actually, it might not matter much. If most people have trouble hearing above say 16 kHz, that means the aliased frequency would originally have to be at 32 kHz or above to be audible.

Further:
    1) If you record at 96 kHz, couldn't you dispense with the filters, or use a very shallow filter? My brain offhand tells me that to alias down to 16 kHz, the original tone would have to be at 112 kHz, unless I'm not remembering the math right.

2) Couldn't you oversample the incoming stream, filter it shallowly, and then downsample it before committing it to storage? At least with today's computing power?

3) In today's implementations, which 99% actually 1-bit before committing to multi bit storage, how is all this different if at all?

4) IIRC, the D/A converter is then supposed to have a filter to "smooth out" the output. So another question would be, what if you didn't have this filter either?