Looking for a table $2000 range

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by reno_dakota, Feb 12, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. reno_dakota

reno_dakota Active Member Thread Starter

Looking for a table in the 1500-2000 range, vintage or new. I listen to punk, hop hop, and electronic, so lots of low end.

I am a total newb and don't know where to start. I am currently still with my starter set up of a Denon Dp 300f with an ortofon blue, technics sa-5360 and Bose 301 series 2.

2. Tim Irvine

Tim Irvine Forum Resident

Assuming the rest of your system will also evolve to keep up there are a few questions and quite a few possibilities. Is the price with or without cartridge? Do you have places to go to listen to different tables? In that price range you are mainly going to encounter belt drive or direct drive rather than idler drive unless you open it up to vintage plus work. Personally I chose a Vinyl Nirvana VN150 with an Ortofon 2m bronze in that price range and am very happy with the outcome. I’d also seriously consider a Polytable. But as I said, there are quite a few possibilities including Technics direct drives and nice Regas and Music Halls. If you go vintage the importance of competent restoration is worth taking into consideration. If, for example, you happen onto a cool old Thorens or Empire or Dual, check back here for recommendations on competent restorers unless you are very knowledgeable, very mechanical, and very adept at tracking down parts. Some restorers like Dave with Vinyl Nirvana offer for sale a range of options from, for example, an old Thorens left largely stock but thoroughly serviced to the same model with new plinth, bushings, wiring, tonearm, tonearm Board, etc. To make this a little more concrete I once had a TD150, the model from which my VN150 was made. It was a lovely basic table and had much the same soul as the VN, but the VN is a much better table IMO.

ddarch likes this.
  3. TheVinylAddict